Latest news »'Welcome Joy and Welcome Sorrow' out today

The new album 'Welcome Joy and Welcome Sorrow' from Bristol four-piece Spiro is released today.

Recorded at Real World Studios, Jane Harbour (violin/viola), Jon Hunt (acoustic guitar/cello), Alex Vann (mandolin) and Jason Sparkes (piano accordion/piano) continue to break through the boundaries of their instruments to deliver a collection of fourteen exhilarating instrumental tracks, all imbued with a powerful emotional intensity.

The album is about being alive and the extremes of human experience that come with it. The title 'Welcome Joy and Welcome Sorrow' is taken from a Keats' poem of the same name which features the line "Dancing music, music sad, both together, sane and mad". It's pretty much a musical mission statement for the band.

"Music taps into something fundamental to us all" says Jane, "and instrumental music is particularly rewarding and meaningful as you don't know why you're feeling emotional. You've reached a place beyond words, the most amazing place that we all share. We go through life trying to connect with other people and the universe, and music is a powerful, fundamentally honest way of doing this. With instrumental music this connection is not muddled by words."

It's why Spiro are an instrumental band. Yet words are important - not only do the titles of each track inform the way the band perform it, they suggest a way into Spiro's sound world whilst offering intensely personal listening experiences.

Find out more

Buy Now
iTunes / Real World

Published 13th Apr 2015, 10:41am »

Latest Releases

- The Gloaming

Supernatural Love
- Sidestepper

Fatteliku (Live In Athens 1987)
- Youssou N'dour et le Super Etoile de Dakar