Latest news » Society of Sound 76: Mar De Leva - A selection from Polen

This month the featured music on Society of Sound takes us to contemporary Colombia.

Polen Records has produced or released some of the most important acts of Colombia and South America. In 2013, Polen was first nominated at the Latin Grammy Awards with Bomba Estéreo’s album Elegancia Tropical (2012) as Best Alternative Music Album. 

The compilation, on Society of Sound, Mar de Leva is a slice of that inspirational vision. 

Felipe Alvarez, the founder and visionary behind Polen Records says:

“The catalogue exposes the artistic line we helped to create and seek to maintain, revealing the multicultural identity of our country. Our roster includes cult bands such as Bajotierra and Sidestepper, singer Ella Fuksbrauner, Mucho Indio, Bomba Estéreo, Radio Cumbia, Cero39 and Mitú. Artists such as Chocquibtown, Pernett and Sol Okarina have also been part of the family and shared their music with us. 

At Polen Records we admire and appreciate the music our artists create and understand our job as a collective effort to get this music to the widest audience possible.” 

One of the key artists for the label are Bomba Estereo, who’s track El Alma y El Cuerpo features on the compilation - listen below.

Back in 2005, visual artist Simón Mejía began a collaborative project that explored the new sounds of Colombian traditional rhythms and melodies with electronic beats and western structures influenced by pioneer bands such as Sidestepper and Bloque De Búsqueda. For this project, Simón brought together different DJs and musicians in 7 tracks that eventually became Bomba Estéreo´s first EP, Vol.1, released in 2006 by Polen Records. This EP included the song “Huepaje” that featured guest singer Li Saumet and gave way to the first building blocks of what would later become Bomba Estéreo’s international debut, ‘Estalla / Blow Up’ (Polen Records 2008). Ever since, Li Saumet has been the voice and face of the band, teaming up with Julián Salazar on guitars and Kike Egurrola on drums, Simón on the bass and sequences and Felipe Alvarez in the musical production.

More details on Society of Sound

More details on the ‘Mar de Leva’ release

Published 9th Oct 2014, 5:37pm »
News posts hosted on tumblr