At the Mouth of the River

Vika & Linda

Released 15 June 1996

  1. Akilotoa
  2. Set On Freedom
  3. Hard Love
  4. 99 Years
  5. I Know Where To Go To Feel Good
  6. Sacred Things
  7. Raise Your Voices
  8. We've Started A Fire
  9. Love Me Like A Man
  10. Que Sera, Sera [Whatever Will Be, Will Be]
  11. Two Wings
  12. Up Above My Head
  13. Many Rivers To Cross

Liner notes

The Mouth of the River is a special compilation of some of Vika and Linda’s most loved songs, offering a unique combination of personal favourites, many of which they grew up with— some never before heard in public.

The two sisters come from Tonga and are based in Melbourne. They have a great following in Australia and New Zealand having already gone platinum in both territories with their debut album VIKA AND LINDA. And they have only just started!

It was Vika and Linda’s Tongan mother who introduced the girls to the beautiful harmonies, most of which they learnt at Tongan Church when they were children. The uplifting vocals and feisty melodies of their music have made these songs great crowd pleasers.

“Tongans have beautiful harmonies,” says Linda, “and that’s what we’re most influenced by. Even though we sing a lot of different styles the thing that keeps it smooth is the harmony. We have been working on that for years.”

Vika added, “Tongans are extremely sociable and very musical. As young girls, each Sunday Linda and I woul sit enjoying the singing at church. One of our fondest memories is of Sunday afternoons when everyone would gather at our home, eating and singing until dusk. It was a wonderful introduction to music.”

Drawing from a rich cultural and musical background, Vika and Linda’s style combines many complementary influences— gospel, soul and reggae. Whilst their heritage provides the haunting South Pacific melodies, their lyrics reveal an inner urban understanding experienced from their cosmopolitan upbringing in Melbourne.


Further Listening

  • Big City Secrets

    Joseph Arthur

    Released 22 June 1997

    On this, Arthur’s 1997 debut, the Ohio singer introduced his experimental folk-rock style and diverse instrumentation, adorning his songs with instruments as varied as hurdy gurdy, corn horn, Venetian xylophone, caxixi, and birimbau.
  • Running Still

    Charlie Winston

    Released 28 January 2013

    A sense of joy and discovery permeates throughout the album, which followed the breakthrough of 2009’s ‘Hobo’. ‘Running Still’ finds Winston and his richly talented band collaborating with veteran Los Angeles producer Tony Berg (Michael Penn, Aimee Mann, Bruce Hornsby, Ozomatli) to reach new emotional and sonic colours.

Further reading

Bab L’ Bluz’s Yousra Mansour guests on BBC Music Life podcast

Yousra discusses her creative processes with Derya Yildirim, Hasan Nakhleh, Merve Erdem.

9Bach live album ‘Ar y 9’ out now

It's an 8-track collection of songs recorded during the band’s 10th anniversary UK tour last year.

10 tracks from across the globe to check out right now

Listen to these great tracks and many more on our regularly updated World playlist.

WOMAD At Home: An aural adventure in North Wales with 9Bach

9Bach present an exclusive immersive recording for WOMAD At Home, featuring brand new songs.