Bokanté announce European dates in early 2019

Bokanté have announced a run of shows in Europe at the start of 2019, including dates in the UK, Norway and Sweden.

Led by Snarky Puppy’s Michael League and sensational Guadeloupian vocalist Malika Tirolien, Bokanté unites musicians from four continents, embodying the connections among peoples and cultures to which their songs aspire. Woodwind, strings, brass, guitars and multitudinous percussion concoct a joyously globe-spanning gallimaufry of funk, folk, rock, jazz and blues.

In January/February 2019, they perform a run of shows in Norway, Sweden and the UK, finishing the tour at Celtic Connections festival in Glasgow on 2nd February.


23 Jan STOCKHOLM, SE Nalen
24 Jan KRISTIANSAND, NO Kilden Performing Arts Centre
25 Jan SANDVIKA, NO Baerum Kulturhus
26 Jan ZURICH, CH Moods
27 Jan LIVERPOOL Jakaranda Records Phase One
28 Jan MANCHESTER Band on the Wall
29 Jan LEEDS Brudenell Social Club
30 Jan BURY ST. EDMUNDS The Apex
31 Jan BRISTOL St. George’s
1 Feb LONDON Ronnie Scott’s
2 Feb GLASGOW Celtic Connections

Bokanté + Metropole Orkest (conducted by Jules Buckkey) - Fanm

Featured Release

  • What Heat

    Bokanté + Metropole Orkest (Conducted by Jules Buckley)

    Released 28 September 2018

    Bokanté traces the blues from its roots in Africa and the Arab world throughout the diaspora and into a modern context. Led by Michael League (Snarky Puppy), the album features Guadeloupean vocalist Malika Tirolien and is a collaboration with the Metropole Orkest and arranger/conductor Jules Buckley.

By Online Editor

Main image: Malika Tirolien from Bokanté performing at Jazz Café, London in July 2018. Photo credit: York Tillyer.

Published on Mon, 03 December 18

Further reading

Dub Colossus announce new remix EP, A Spy In The House of Dub

Marking 10 years since the first release by Dub Colossus, the new EP is released later this month.

Real World music featured on BBC Two’s Mediterranean with Simon Reeve

Simon Reeve embarks on a journey around the Mediterranean, soundtracked by music from Real World.

Track of the Day: ‘In The Sun’ by Joseph Arthur

A look back on Arthur's most popular song, which featured on 2000's Come To Where I'm From.

5 Hip Hop and EDM artists who sampled Totó la Momposina

Classic cumbia songs have been the inspiration for worldwide urban and dance hits.