Ríoghnach gets grumpy in the studio for The Breath’s latest video

Trip The Switch, the latest track to be released from The Breath's forthcoming album, was inspired by a heated day in the studio when the band relegated singer Ríoghnach Connolly to the confines of a guitar booth.

Underscoring the remarkable connection between Ríoghnach and songwriting partner/guitarist Stuart McCallum, the song exemplifies the great clashing virtues of the pair. Her exceptional gift for the spontaneous lyric is on full display in this, the second single from the album Let The Cards Fall, which was written during a demo session with McCallum and fellow bandmates Luke Flowers and John Ellis.

Sometimes we have friends who are arseholes, but when you know the script you enjoy the show,” Ríoghnach retrospectively comments. “Right”, says Stuart apologetically, “but we got the song out of you, didn’t we?

The song’s lyrics, ‘hould your whisht’ and ‘pick it up off the ditch’ come from the rich compendium of sayings and proverbs of Armagh, Ríoghnach’s hometown. The former is a command to silence (“keep schtum, say naahun and keep saying it”) whilst the latter describes behaviour that’s in keeping with family tradition.

Read the lyrics to ‘Trip The Switch’ on Genius.com

The official video for 'Trip The Switch', directed by York Tillyer.

The pair returned to Real World Studios last month, where the new album was recorded and mixed, to film the video for ‘Trip The Switch’. We also captured an entertaining conversation between them both discussing the process of making their second album together, and remembering the incident which inspired the new single:

The Breath‘s second album, Let The Cards Fall, will be released on 14 September on Real World Records, and they will tour in the autumn.


Tour Dates

15 July BUXTON Buxton International Festival
4 Oct HULL University of Hull
9 Oct CARDIFF Acapela Studios
30 Oct NORWICH Norwich Arts Centre
31 Oct LONDON the Nest Collective at the Old Queens Head
1 Nov BRISTOL Trinity Centre
8 Nov BRIGHTON Komedia
9 Nov NOTTINGHAM Metronome
13 Nov MANCHESTER The Deaf Institute

Featured release

  • Let The Cards Fall

    The Breath

    Released 13 September 2018

    A bewitching collection of songs that journeys from lush, beguiling storytelling to uplifting, punch-the-air anthems. Allowed to mature and breathe without losing the widescreen, multi-textured kaleidoscope of sound that marked their debut, Let the Cards Fall refines The Breath's unique Manchester take on alt-folk.

By Oran Mullan

Published on Fri, 27 July 18

Further reading

Winner of Badd Lime & Ami Yèrèwolo’s ‘Niafiyé’ remix contest revealed

The contest was run in partnership with pro-audio software companies Native Instruments and iZotope.

Les Amazones d’Afrique to play Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury Festival

The Glastonbury date forms part of the band's forthcoming UK tour.

Track of the day: ‘Sajanava’ by Jasdeep Singh Degun

Sajanava is taken from Jasdeep Singh Degun's debut album Anomaly.

Guitarist Salif Koné demonstrates three musical styles from Mali

Rokia Koné and Les Amazones d'Afrique's guitarist demonstrates Mandigue, Bamana & Tuareg music.