Society of Sound: Low Island

Low Island are a band a lifetime in the making. Carlos Posada (vocals, guitar, keys), Jacob Lively (bass) and Felix Higginbottom (drums, percussion) met at primary school, meeting Jamie Jay (vocals, guitar, keys) in their early teens. They have been bouncing from rehearsal room to rehearsal room with each other for as long as they can remember. Low Island, the most potent incarnation of their musical brotherhood, formed just over a year ago. Practice makes perfect, and the Oxford quartet have concocted a magical sound that is all their own.

The band’s songs gracefully morph from exhilarating electronica to glacial, minimalist soundscapes; experimental, claustrophobic rock to expansive grooves.

In less than a year, they have already released 12 tracks over two EPs and standalone single releases and this month’s Society of Sound album gives you a chance to experience a selection of these songs in one place.

Find out more at the Society of Sound website

By Online Editor

Published on Fri, 20 April 18

Further reading

Society of Sound: Erland Cooper

The Bowers and Wilkins Society of Sound release for February 2018 is Solan Goose, the debut solo album by Erland Cooper.

Society of Sound: KLARA

The March 2018 release Bowers & Wilkins Society of Sound is the new album from London-based, Swedi...

Society of Sound: Les Amazones d’Afrique

The January 2018 release on Bowers & Wilkins Society of Sound is the debut album by Les Amazones d'A...