Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila

Released 31 December 1991

  1. Dodoma
  2. One World
  3. I Want To Go Home
  4. Inchi Vetu (Our Country)
  5. What Can I Say? (Niseme Nini)
  6. No Money, No Life
  7. Living Together (Tupendane)
  8. Mrema
  9. Kidogo Kidogo (Little By Little)

Liner notes

Remmy Ongala and the band in sparkling form at the 1991 Real World Recording Week. A soulful and uplifting set, nurtured and given space by producer Rupert Hine. Intricate four-part guitar patterns interlock with bubbling bass lines, while the rhythm shifts seamlessly from a gentle lope to a galloping rhumba.

Remmy’s aim is to make people dance, but also to make them think. The voice of the Tanzanian always has something politically astute or deeply philosophical to say. His concerns are rooted in both the daily life of Dar es Salaam and politics on a global scale. By introducing English lyrics he widens his potential audience yet further.


Further Listening

  • Songs For The Poor Man

    Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila

    Released 30 October 1989

    Recorded at Real World Studios over three days during May 1989, this album is the first Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila produced in a Western environment. The tracks feature Matimila’s touring nucleus of eight musicians, and provide a great introduction to this unique and compelling band.
  • Molokai

    Papa Wemba

    Released 01 June 1998

    Named in honour of his band, Molokai is a live studio performance from one of Africa's greatest stars. The album collects classic hits and newer songs from the late 90s by Papa Wemba and is produced by John Leckie.

More content

Society of Sound: Deep Deep Water

Deep Deep Water are a truly collaborative project, songwriting, instrumentation and sound design are...

Geoffrey Oryema, 1953-2018

One of Real World's most loved musicians, Uganda-born Geoffrey Oryema, has died at the age of 65.

Totó la Momposina in Paris: a Colombian refugee becomes a star

How the Colombian musical icon’s career blossomed in the 70s and 80s in France

10 Songs of protest from around the world

10 inspirational tracks with bold socio-political statements that feature on our playlist, Protest!