Musow Danse

Les Amazones d’Afrique

Released 16 February 2024

  1. Musow Danse (Women's Dance)
  2. Mother Murakoze (feat. Alvie Bitemo)
  3. Flaws (feat. Mamani Keïta & Fafa Ruffino)
  4. Kiss Me (feat. Dobet Gnahoré)
  5. Kuma Fo (What They Say)
  6. Espérance (feat. Mamani Keïta)
  7. To Be Loved (feat. Kandy Guira)
  8. Queen Kuruma (feat. Fafa Ruffino)
  9. Bobo Me (Interlude) [feat. Nneka]
  10. Amahoro (Don't Get Angry) [feat. Alvie Bitemo]
  11. My Place (feat. Dobet Gnahoré)
  12. Bobo Me (feat. Nneka & Mamani Keïta)

Liner notes

The all-female African supergroup Les Amazones d’Afrique, a collective which has included some of the biggest stars in African music, make a triumphant return with a brand-new sound on their third album Musow Danse.

Les Amazones d’Afrique is an all-female collective formed in Bamako, Mali, in 2014 by three renowned Malian music stars and social change activists, Mamani Keïta, Oumou Sangaré and Mariam Doumbia, and it has since expanded to involve many female artists from across Africa and the diaspora. While their cause — campaigning for gender equality and eradicating ancestral violence — is worthy enough in itself, their musical creative expression is equally powerful. Richly melodic and far-ranging, it blends pan-African styles and collaborative harmonies with gritty, contemporary pop.

Following two critically-acclaimed albums République Amazone (2017) and Amazones Power (2020) working with the idiosyncratic Congotronics producer Doctor L, the band have now collaborated with Jacknife Lee (U2, Modest Mouse, Taylor Swift) on the new album to embrace a powerful pop sound led by 808s and glitchy synths and drawing from contemporary hip-hop and trap influences.

Les Amazones d'Afrique - Kuma Fo (What They Say)

Further listening

  • Amazones Power

    Les Amazones d’Afrique

    Released 24 January 2020

    A creative force that embraces international voices; sweet, strong harmonies that summon the rights of women and girls; a meltdown of heritage and new gen talent… Les Amazones d’Afrique are back with Amazones Power, the sequel to their widely acclaimed 2017 debut album, République Amazone.

    Rokia Koné & Jacknife Lee

    Released 18 February 2022

    It’s a voice that soars — pure, clear and true — above bass and synths, traditional percussion and infectious Mande guitar grooves. A stop-you-in-your-tracks voice instantly familiar to anyone in Mali, West Africa: Rokia Koné, a.k.a the Rose of Bamako. On her debut album, she teams up with California-based rock producer Jacknife Lee to reimagine the Malian sound in ways both leftfield and beautiful.

Further reading

The Breath release title track of forthcoming album

The Breath share the title track from their forthcoming album, Land of My Other.

Bokanté receive two Grammy nominations for latest album ‘History’

The album has been shortlisted for ‘Best Global Album’ and 'Best Engineered Album (non-classical...

Track of the Day: ‘Chavale’ by Kerieva, from Dub No Frontiers

Today sees the release of Kerieva’s ‘Chavale’, the second track to be revealed from the forthc...

Africa comes to Real World: revisiting albums by six legendary artists

Jane Cornwell explores our new reissue series 'Africa Sessions at Real World'.