Sajanava (Official Video)

Jasdeep Singh Degun

‘Sajanava’ is a string-laden affair based on Pt Ajoy Chakrabarty’s thumri — a semi-classical song form associated with kathak, the North Indian dance style — and the only track on Jasdeep Singh Degun‘s album Anomaly to feature classical (dual female) vocals. ‘Sajanava’ is the third track to be lifted from the album.

Dancers: Vidya Patel, Anaya Vasudha
Commissioned by: Sampad
Production Company: BlackBox
Director / DOP: Adam Lyons
1st AC: Jamie Merchant
Gaffer: Matt Gentleman
Producer: Francesca Hotchin
Car provided by Ranjit Singh

With thanks to: Piali Ray, Chitraleka Dance Company, and Sky Academy

Debipriya Das – Vocal
Yarlinie Thana – Vocal
Glenn Sharp – Guitar
Jasdeep Singh Degun – Sitar

String Section:
Bruce White – Viola
Chris Worsey – Cello
Everton Keith Nelson – Violin
Gillon Cameron – Violin
Ian Burdge – Cello
Ian Humphries – Violin
John William Metcalfe – Viola
Louisa Fuller – Violin
Lucy Wilkins – Violin
Marianne Christine Haynes – Violin
Nicholas John Cooper – Cello
Oli Langford – Violin
Reiad Chibah – Viola
Richard Pryce – Violin
Tom Pigott-Smith – Violin
Warren Zielinski – Violin

Produced by Jasdeep Singh Degun and David McEwan
Mixed by James Turner
Mastered by Nick Watson at Fluid Mastering
Written by Jasdeep Singh Degun
Traditional thumri: Pt Ajoy Chakrabarty

More from Jasdeep Singh Degun

Further reading

Jasdeep Singh Degun announces Anomaly tour

The tour with 9-piece band takes place in the UK and Europe this May and June.

Jasdeep Singh Degun releases viral hit ‘Aapki Khushi’ ahead of May tour

The song was written for the recent critically-acclaimed Opera North of Monteverdi’s Orpheus.

Africa comes to Real World: revisiting albums by six legendary artists

Jane Cornwell explores our new reissue series 'Africa Sessions at Real World'.

Guitarist Salif Koné demonstrates three musical styles from Mali

Rokia Koné and Les Amazones d'Afrique's guitarist demonstrates Mandigue, Bamana & Tuareg music.