Guess You Got It


Released 04 July 2005

  1. I Was Walking
  2. Brand New Face?
  3. Burning
  4. Butterfly
  5. On Such A Lovely Day
  6. Dark Blue And Gold
  7. Bucket Of Love
  8. Luise Luise
  9. You Can't Be My Love
  10. Sweet Love

Liner notes

The album Guess You Got It is crammed with songs that already sound like classics. With Pina augmenting her hypnotic, weather-beaten vocals by playing piano and strumming a second-hand 1970 Strat-Plus, the album often swerves off on surprising tangents. Despite this, it never loses its underlying shape or direction. Pina often experiments with rhythm and texture, but there is nothing vague about her songwriting.

Listening to Guess You Got It, I hear hints of Patti Smith’s improvised poetry, the anguish of Portishead’s Beth Gibbons, the wild blues of Janis Joplin and the ferocity of Throwing Muses. Others will no doubt make their own comparisons. What should be clear to everyone, however, is that the album is built on human feelings rather than modern studio trickery. And that’s down primarily to Pina’s phenomenal singing.

"I couldn't write songs that weren't personal" Pina

“I couldn’t write songs that weren’t personal” she explains in an accent that has traces of both her Austrian upbringing and her rural Irish base. “But I don’t want to be seen as a singer-songwriter. I’m not just a woman with an acoustic guitar, and I don’t want to be seen as a folk artist. I’ve done gigs with folk singers and felt out of place. My songs are more rock than folk.”

Words by Adrian Thrills

Guess You Got It was originally released on the Real World imprint PRE Records, a label set-up to allow a different strand of music to sit alongside the Real World Records releases.

At the time Peter Gabriel said, “In starting PRE we get an opportunity to highlight some of the artists from our own musical world. I never really wanted to go outside Real World Records but one of the problems with the music business is it’s very hard to get stuff racked and firms are cutting space that would have gone to world music, and for some of the acts that are from a rock cultural heritage, they’ve always had a tough time being put in the world music section.”


  • Her sophomore album again points to a sharp and wildly unorthodox attitude on songs such as the guitar-rippling, muscular 'Burning' and the whiplash blues of 'I Was Walking' sounds like Macy Gray taking a stroll with Robert Plant in the Sahara, while 'Dark Blue and Gold' could be a signature tune for Joss Stone. Quirky and original. Sunday Star Times (UK)
  • If it says real World, Peter Gabriel's world music imprint, it must be ethnic "exotica", right? Not the case for Austrian, Pina Kollars. Her second album draws on folk/country roots, often with the harsh, swarthy textures of rock. From the gospelly, Gothic blues of I Was Walking to a deliriously happy Bucket of Love, this, her second album, radiates an unusual compelling beauty. The Times Online (UK)

Further reading

Announcing Live at WOMAD 1982: a double album of unheard recordings from the historic first WOMAD festival

The double live album will be released on 29 July to coincide with WOMAD Charlton Park 2022.

The WOMAD Foundation announce 40th Anniversary Project Grant

The winning project will present their work in a performance or presence at the WOMAD Charlton Park...

Track of the day: ‘Kurunba’ by Rokia Koné & Jacknife Lee

'Kurunba' is the second single from the forthcoming album BAMANAN.

Track of the day: ‘We Are Part Mineral’ by Hannah Peel & Paraorchestra

Hannah Peel & Paraorchestra share new single, ‘We Are Part Mineral’, the latest to be taken from...