Venus on Earth

Dengue Fever

Released 08 June 2008

  1. Seeing Hands
  2. Clipped Wings
  3. Tiger Phone Card
  4. Woman In The Shoes
  5. Sober Driver
  6. Monsoon Of Perfume
  7. Integratron
  8. Oceans Of Venus
  9. Laugh Track
  10. Tooth And Nail
  11. Mr. Orange

Liner notes

Dengue Fever is in the vanguard of an emerging global pop sensibility, making music that’s both familiar, yet eerily unique. Fronted by Cambodian pop star Ch’hom Nimol, who sings in both Khmer and English, the Los Angeles sextet blends the rhythms of ’60’s Cambodian pop —heavily influenced by American surf, rock and early psychedelic garage bands— with their own eclectic mix of American and international styles. There are echoes of Bollywood soundtracks, Ethiopian soul, American R&B, Cambodian folk, Spaghetti Western weirdness and girl group angst in the mix, but the resulting concoction is all their own.

Venus On Earth is the eagerly awaited third release from Dengue Fever, featuring 12 original songs. The album release is supported by an extensive Summer tour of some of the biggest festivals in Europe.

"If there is any justice in pop music, we'll all catch Dengue Fever before the year is out." The Times
The official video for 'Seeing Hands'
"Sexy and eclectic, it's world music for the cool kids” Los Angeles Times


Further Listening

  • Kalashnik Love

    Speed Caravan

    Released 13 September 2009

    Electrified, amplified and fuelled by creative fire, the Paris-based quartet charge towards a psychedelic horizon; slaloming through rock, dance, electro, hiphop, world and other music - blazing a trail with raised fists, a hand brake turn and a sharp spray of desert sand.
  • A Town Called Addis

    Dub Colossus

    Released 12 October 2008

    Dub Colossus collaborate with some of Ethiopia's finest performers. Utilising Azmari and traditional styles as well as the popular singing styles of the 60s and 70s the album seeks to combine the golden years of Ethiopique beats and Ethiojazz with the dub reggae styles of early 70s groups like the Abyssinians and the Mighty Diamonds.

Further reading

Les Amazones d’Afrique assert women’s freedom of expression with new single ‘Kuma Fo’

The track features on their forthcoming Jacknife Lee-produced album Musow Danse.

DK Phone release debut single ‘Gorée Demba’ on rlwrldx imprint

DK Phone is a new funk and soul project featuring Mara Seck and Liam Farrell.

Guitarist Salif Koné demonstrates three musical styles from Mali

Rokia Koné and Les Amazones d'Afrique's guitarist demonstrates Mandigue, Bamana & Tuareg music.

Track of the day: ‘Sajanava’ by Jasdeep Singh Degun

Sajanava is taken from Jasdeep Singh Degun's debut album Anomaly.