Various Artists

Released 25 July 2019

  1. Yolele - Papa Wemba
  2. Kel Kweyo - Geoffrey Oryema
  3. Adolat Tanovari - Sevara Nazarkhan
  4. White Swans - Guo Yue
  5. All The Way Home - Bokanté & Metropole Orkest & Jules Buckley
  6. Mansa Soyari - Les Amazones D'Afrique
  7. Taa Deem - Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
  8. Tara - Yungchen Lhamo
  9. The Sailor's Bonnet - The Gloaming
  10. Inion - Afro Celt Sound System
  11. Kronkronhinko - Ayub Ogada
  12. Dondo - Aurelio
  13. Whole Thing - Big Blue Ball feat. Peter Gabriel
  14. Muziki Asili Yake Wapi - Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila
  15. Chi Chi Mani - Toto La Momposina
  16. Calcutta City - Amjad Ali Khan
  17. Mukadzi Wangu - Thomas Mapfumo & The Blacks Unlimited
  18. Nana - Sheila Chandra
  19. Ririwon - Telek

Various Artists

Liner notes

Launched 30 years ago in 1989, Real World Records has grown into a label of wide-ranging, world-class music from all corners of the globe. There’s an enormous variety of styles, moods and genres within the music catalogue that bears the famous colour bar logo, but they all have these things in common— the quality of the recording, the superb production and music of great passion.

“When we look back now over our catalogue we realise how lucky we were to be working with so many of the world’s great artists.” Peter Gabriel

Many of the label’s releases are recorded at Real World Studios where the live interactive spaces provide an environment capable of capturing the excitement and vitality of musicians in performance.

“Whatever the music, whatever the technology, great records come from great performances.” Peter Gabriel

Celebrating 30 years of discovery and enlightenment, this window into Real World music traces a path from Tanzania to China, Ireland to Tibet, Colombia to Papua New Guinea. We have chosen tracks that opened our minds and hearts to sounds from all around our planet— an enriching and joyous experience.

Further Listening

  • Real World 25

    Various Artists

    Released 28 September 2014

    Beautifully packaged clamshell box with 3 CD wallets, 28 page booklet containing the story of 25 Years of Real World Records, and a collection of Real World Tales with contributions from musicians, producers, designer and managers.

Further reading

The Breath release title track of forthcoming album

The Breath share the title track from their forthcoming album, Land of My Other.

Classic Sheila Chandra trilogy set for re-issue

British Asian World Music pioneer Sheila Chandra’s landmark trilogy of albums set for re-issue.

Track of the day: ‘Sajanava’ by Jasdeep Singh Degun

Sajanava is taken from Jasdeep Singh Degun's debut album Anomaly.

Track of the day: ‘Steal’ by Bob Holroyd. Remixed by Luca Bacchetti

Originally released as part of the Mangled Pianos single last summer, ‘Steal’ has been reworked...