Spirit of Africa

Various Artists

Released 14 October 2001

  1. Awa Y'okeyi/If You Go Away - Papa Wemba
  2. Somali Udiida Ceb/Somalia, Don't Shame Yourself (Paul Oakenfold Mix) - Maryam Mursal
  3. Saï Saï Sida/AIDS The Devil - Omar Pene & Super Dianomo De Dakar
  4. Kulusizi Emhlabeni/It's Sad In This World - Mzwakhe Mbuli
  5. Xale/Our Young People - Youssou N'Dour
  6. Sima - Tama
  7. 10% (Spirit Mix) - Ayub Ogada
  8. Kasennyanku/The Firewood Collector - Bernard Kabanda
  9. Remmy Ongala Mambo Kwa Soksi/Things With Socks
  10. Hamid Baroudi Baraka
  11. Imbizo Zulu Khayalami/Heaven Is My Home
  12. Dr Hukwe Zawose* & Michael Brook Kuna Kunguni/The Bedbugs Bite
  13. The Drummers Of Burundi Extract
  14. TASO Choir AIDS The Disease

Various Artists

Liner notes

Real World Records, in conjunction with the Mercury Phoenix Trust, are proud to announce the release of “Spirit of Africa” (through Real World) on 15th October 2001.

“Spirit of Africa” is an AIDS initiative from the Mercury Phoenix Trust, the AIDS charity established by the remaining members of Queen and their manager Jim Beach in the wake of the death of Freddie Mercury. Since 1992 the Trust has been responsible for donating more than £7 million in the fight against the AIDS crisis to over 100 different charities around the world. Together with this album, the project is intended to focus global attention on the regions of the developing world where the needs for AIDS awareness and education is greatest.


Further Listening

  • The Journey

    Maryam Mursal

    Released 16 March 1998

    The radiant Somalian diva Maryam Mursal lifts off with this highly charged album of vibrant pop songs. The album title refers to the journey taken by the singer and her five children when they underwent a seven-month odyssey to escape the trials and tribulations of their native Somalia.
  • En Mana Kuoyo

    Ayub Ogada

    Released 16 May 1993

    Kenyan singer-songwriter Ayub Ogada was a busker on London’s Northern Line when he came to Real World’s attention in the late 80s. And this 1993 set – his only record for the label – proved that it was a meeting of minds, with his disarmingly simple arrangements allowed to hang there unadorned, making a lasting impression.

Further reading

John Metcalfe reveals new track: Root to Leaf

John Metcalfe reveals new track Root to Leaf, taken from his album, Tree. Eight compositions chartin...

The Breath release title track of forthcoming album

The Breath share the title track from their forthcoming album, Land of My Other.

Track of the day: ‘Sajanava’ by Jasdeep Singh Degun

Sajanava is taken from Jasdeep Singh Degun's debut album Anomaly.

Guitarist Salif Koné demonstrates three musical styles from Mali

Rokia Koné and Les Amazones d'Afrique's guitarist demonstrates Mandigue, Bamana & Tuareg music.